Freedom. Truth. Marriage.

My thoughts on these things. Feel free to leave feedback.

“I need more of God”

ThingsWeSaw

In the church circles I’ve been in I often hear of people wanting, praying for, and singing for more of God. To me, it sounds like God is withholding some of his Spirit and we need to ask for more. But what does the Bible say?

In 2 Peter 1:3 it says, “His divine power has given us everything we need for a godly life through our knowledge of him who called us by his own glory and goodness.”

Philippians 1:19 also says, “for I know that through your prayers and God’s provision of the Spirit of Jesus Christ what has happened to me will turn out for my deliverance.” The word for provision is “epichoregeo.” In his book, Sparkling Gems from the Greek, Rick Renner tells this story:

“Thousands of years ago in classical Greece, a huge choral and dramatic company practiced endlessly for a huge, important theatrical performance. After they put in a great amount of time, effort, energy, and practice, it was finally time for the show to go on the road. But there was one major problem — they ran out of money!

These people had given their lives to this production. They had committed all their resources to making sure the performance succeeded. But because they ran out of financing, it meant the show was over — finished! They were washed up before the show ever officially got started. From all appearances, it was the end of the road for them and their dream.

At that exact moment, a wealthy man heard of their crisis, stepped into the middle of their situation, and made a huge financial contribution on behalf of the choir. This contribution “supplied” all they needed to get back in business again! In fact, the gift the man gave was so enormous that it was more than they needed or knew how to spend! This man’s contribution was excessively large, abundant, overflowing, and overwhelming.

This is where we get the word “supply” in Philippians 1:19 that now describes the enormous contribution of the Spirit that Jesus Christ wants to give to you and me! In light of this, Philippians 1:19 could be taken to mean:

‘I am certain that this situation will ultimately turn around and result in my deliverance. I’m sure of it — first, because you are praying for me; and second, because of the special contribution of the Spirit that Jesus Christ is donating for my present cause.’ This means when you’ve run out of steam; when you’ve given your best effort and you don’t feel like you have another ounce of energy left to give; when it looks like your resources are drained and you are unable to take one more step unless someone steps in to help you — that is exactly the moment when Jesus Christ becomes your personal Benefactor! Like the wealthy man in the story above, Jesus steps into your life at that moment to donate”

Often when I feel like I don’t have enough of God, I find out I’m not allowing God access to all of me. According to the Bible he’s already given us everything. He’s there to supply and provide. My role, then, is to die to myself – my wants, desires, ambitions, and wishes.

Single Post Navigation

Leave a Reply

Cloudy with a Chance of Susan

Inside the Mind of Susan Cloud

Everyone Loves Sex: So Why Wait?

Just another WordPress.com site

Do Not Disturb

Practical Steps for Friendship, Unity and Intimacy in Your Marriage

The Forgiven Wife

Learning to Dance with Desire

Duct Tape and Denim

Thrift store makeovers~Upcycled Jewelry~Living a Repurposed Life~DIY Crafts

Mark and Lauren

in Asia-Pacific

changedbygrace.net

Thoughts along the journey

Freedom-Truth-Marriage

Freedom... Truth... Marriage...

